Property Class Assignments
Spring Semester 2013

Assignment prior to first class: Please write a note (about a page in length) giving me some biographical information about yourself: where you're from, your background, why you came to law school, your hobbies/interests, and/or any other information that will help me get to know you better. Submit this to me by e-mail at freyermuthr@missouri.edu on or before Wednesday, January 16.

Assignment for Classes #1 and 2, Thursday, January 17 and Friday, January 18: Read pages 1-29 of the casebook. During class, we will discuss Jacque v. Steenberg Homes, Inc. and State v. Shack and the notes following those cases. Click here for discussion questions to accompany this material.

Assignment for Class #2, Friday, January 18. Pages 1-29. We will spend most of the class discussing State v. Shack and the notes following that case. Time permitting, we will begin discussing Kelo v. City of New London (pages 30-43), though that discussion will continue into class on Tuesday.

Monday, January 21. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday. No class meeting.

Assignment for Class #3, Tuesday, January 22. Pages 30-43 and 43-55. We will discuss the United States Steel case as well as the Kelo case. Click here for discussion questions to accompany this material.

Assignment for Class #4, Wednesday, January 23. After finishing any remaining discussion of Kelo, we will begin Chapter 2 with Pierson v. Post (pages 71-83). Discussion Questions to accompany this material.

Assignment for Class #5, Thursday, January 24. We will discuss Pierson v. Post and Popov v. Hayashi (pages 83-89). Discussion Questions to accompany this material.

Assignment for Class #6, Friday, January 25. We will discuss Edwards v. Sims (pages 97-105), and then begin discussing first-in-time in the context of intangible property (pages 106-116), starting first with Joyce v. GMC and then DaimlerChrysler v. The Net. Discussion Questions for this material.

Assignment for Class #7, Monday, January 28. After discussing DaimlerChrysler, we will discuss pages 116-130 and the extent to which persons can claim a property right in their identities. Discussion Questions for this material.

Assignment for Class #8, Tuesday, January 29. We'll spend the first half of Tuesday's class finishing discussion of Saderup and the material on the right of publicity and property rights in identity. We will then begin discussing the material on finding and disputes over found property (pages 130-145). For Tuesday, we'll not go beyond Armory v. Delamirie and the notes after the case. Discussion Questions for this material.

Assignment for Class #9, Wednesday, January 30. Pages 130-145 (continued), focusing on Benjamin v. Lindner Aviation.

Assignment for Class #10, Thursday, January 31. After completing the material on finding, we will begin discussing the material on "bona fide purchase" and the circumstances under which the law will protect a bona fide purchaser, even though the seller did not have "good title" (pages 146-162). For class on January 31, we probably won't get beyond personal property and West v. Roberts. Discussion Questions for this material.

[No Class Meeting on Friday, February 1]

Assignment for Class #11, Monday, February 4. Complete pages 146-162, and then begin Adverse Possession (pages 162-181). Discussion Questions for pages 162-181.

Assignment for Class #12, Tuesday, February 5. Complete pages 162-181; time permitting, begin pages 181-193 ("Hostility" in Adverse Possession). Discussion Questions for pages 181-193.

Assignment for Class #13, Wednesday, February 6. Pages 181-193 and 193-204 ("Open and Notorious" Possession; Estoppel and Related Doctrines). We will focus particularly on Norman and Stump and the hostility and "open and notorious" requirements as applied in boundary disputes. Discussion Questions for pages 193-204.

[No Class Meeting on Thursday, February 7, Friday, February 8, or Monday, February 11.]

Assignment for Class #14, Tuesday, February 12. Pages 193-204. Complete Adverse Possession (pages 193-204).

Assignment for Class #15, Wednesday, February 13. Pages 205-219 (Inter Vivos Gifts and Conditional Gifts of Personal Property). Discussion Questions for pages 205-219.

Assignment for Class #16, Thursday, February 14. Pages 219-228 (Testamentary Gifts and Causa Mortis Gifts). Discussion Questions for pages 219-228.

Assignment for Class #17, Friday, February 15. Pages 228-252 (Gifts of Future Interests; Introduction to the Law of Estates in Land; Life Estates and Remainder Interests). Discussion Questions for pages 228-252.

NOTE: Question/Answer Session will be on Sunday evening, February 17, at 7:00 pm in Room 5.

Assignment for Class #18, Monday, February 18. Complete reading through page 252, then begin pages 252-266 (Life Estates and Waste; Trusts; the Fee Tail). Discussion Questions for pages 252-266.

Assignment for Class #19, Tuesday, February 19. Complete pages 252-266.

Assignment for Class #20, Wednesday, February 20. Pages 267-287 (Defeasible Estates). Discussion Questions for pages 267-287.

Assignment for Class #21, Thursday, February 21. Complete pages 267-287, then begin pages 290-307 (Future Interests; The Vested/Contingent Distinction; The Destructibility Rule). Discussion Questions for pages 290-307.

Friday, February 22. CLASS POSTPONED (Weather)

Assignment for Class #22, Monday, February 25. Complete pages 290-307.

Tuesday, February 26. CLASS POSTPONED (Weather)

Assignment for Class #23, Wednesday, February 27. After discussing Kost v. Foster, begin pages 310-330 (The Rule Against Perpetuities). Discussion Questions for pages 310-330

Thursday, February 28. No Class Meeting.

Friday, March 1. No Class Meeting.

Assignment for Class #24, Monday, March 4. Pages 310-330 (RAP)

Assignment for Class #25, Tuesday, March 5. Complete pages 310-330, then begin pages 334-344 (Introduction to Concurrent Ownership). Discussion Questions for pages 334-344.

Assignment for Class #26, Wednesday, March 6. Pages 334-344. Time permitting, begin pages 344-357 (Severance of Joint Tenancy). Discussion Questions for pages 344-357.

Assignment for Class #27, Thursday, March 7. Pages 344-357.

Assignment for Class #28, Friday, March 8. RECALL THAT CLASS WILL BE AT 1:00PM, SO THAT VISITING PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS CAN ATTEND CLASS. Pages 357-367 (Tenancy by the Entirety). Discussion Questions for pages 357-367.

Assignment for Class #29, Monday, March 11. We will briefly finish discussion of pages 357-367 and tenancy by the entirety, and then will begin pages 367-383 (Partition and Rules Governing the Relationship Between Co-owners). Discussion Questions for pages 367-383.

Assignment for Class #30, Tuesday, March 12. Pages 367-383.

Assignment for Class #31, Wednesday, March 13. Pages 393-400 and 441-451 (Introduction to Landlord-Tenant and the Covenant of Quiet Enjoyment). Discussion Questions for pages 393-400 and 441-451.

Thursday, March 14 and Friday, March 15. NO CLASS MEETING.

Assignment for Class #32, Monday, March 18. Pages 393-400 and 441-451.

Assignment for Class #33, Tuesday, March 19. Complete pages 441-451, then begin pages 400-417 (Leases vs. Easements and Licenses; Types of Leasehold Estates). Discussion Questions for pages 400-417.

Assignment for Class #34, Wednesday, March 20. Complete pages 400-417, then (time permitting) begin pages 417-431 (Transferability of the Tenant's Estate). Discussion Questions for pages 417-431.

Assignment for Class #35, Thursday, March 21. Pages 417-431 (Transferability of the Tenant's Estate).

March 25-29. Spring Break

Assignment for Class #36, Monday, April 1. Complete pages 417-431 (focusing on Ernst v. Conditt), then read pages 432-440 (Use of the Premises). Discussion Questions for pages 432-440.

Assignment for Class #37, Tuesday, April 2. Finish pages 432-440, then read pages 440-473 (Condition of the Premises). Discussion Questions for pages 440-473.

Assignment for Class #38, Wednesday, April 3. Pages 440-473.

Assignment for Class #39, Thursday, April 4. Complete pages 440-473, then begin pages 484-506 (Tenant Default; Tenant Abandonment; Landlord's Remedies. Discussion Questions for pages 484-506.

Assignment for Class #40, Monday, April 8. Complete pages 484-506.

Assignment for Class #41, Tuesday, April 9. Pages 506-517 (Discrimination in Leasing and the Fair Housing Act). Discussion Questions for pages 506-517

Assignment for Class #42, Wednesday, April 10. Finish pages 506-517, then begin pages 520-534, 542-549 (Easements: Affirmative and Negative Easements; Appurtenant Easements and Easements in Gross; Prescriptive Easements). Discussion Questions for pages 520-534 and 542-549. Discussion will start with the Alft v. Stewart case, then move on Thursday to negative easements (Patterson) and prescriptive easements (Melendez)

Assignment for Class #43, Thursday, April 11. Complete pages 520-534 and 542-549.

Assignment for Class #44, Friday, April 12. Pages 534-542 and 550-553 (Implied Easements and Irrevocable Licenses). Discussion Questions for pages 534-542 and 550-553

Assignment for Class #45, Monday, April 15. Complete pages 534-542 and 550-553, then begin pages 553-582 (Scope and Termination of Easements). Discussion Questions for pages 553-582.

Assignment for Class #46, Tuesday, April 16. Pages 553-582.

Assignment for Class #47, Wednesday, April 17. Pages 553-582.