Professor Trachtenberg Receives UM System President’s Award

Professor Ben Trachtenberg received the President’s Award for University Citizenship – Leadership for 2019. Each year, the University of Missouri System President’s Awards are presented on behalf of President Mun Choi to faculty members across the four campuses of the UM System. These highly competitive awards recognize faculty who have made exceptional contributions in advancing the mission of the University.

Professor Trachtenberg provided exemplary faculty leadership during particularly difficult times while serving as chair of the MU Faculty Council from 2015 to 2017. As chair, he displayed grace under tremendous pressure and forthrightly articulated faculty positions on sensitive issues. He has a well-deserved national reputation for collaborative, ethical and farsighted leadership and an extensive publication record related to university leadership, including “The 2015 University of Missouri Protests and their Lessons for Higher Education Policy and Administration” and “The Complexities of Shared Governance and Freedom of Speech.”

As well as deep knowledge of theory, Professor Trachtenberg has robust practical experience. In addition to his time as Faculty Council Chair, he has served as faculty advisor to several student organizations and participates on a number of faculty committees, including chairing the Mark Twain Fellowship Committee. His institutional service is balanced with productive research and excellent teaching, as evidenced by multiple teaching awards and his nationally recognized writings. His national reputation for leadership in higher education is a testament to his exemplary service since his arrival at Mizzou.