Congratulations to the 2018 Transactional Law Competition Winners!

On October 26th and 29th, the MU Tax and Transactional Law Society hosted the Sixth Annual Transactional Law Competition, generously sponsored by Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner. This year’s winners are 1Ls Samantha Sweet, Samuel Hoskins, and Kelli Reichert (pictured left to right).

This year’s competition problem required students to research state and local tax issues relating to one company’s potential acquisition of another company. Students were asked to present their research to panels of six MU law alumni practicing transactional law, who acted as senior tax partners in the teams’ law firm.

For two weeks before the competition, 15 students spent many hours researching complex tax issues and preparing their presentations. The competition provides students with hands-on, realistic exposure to the practice of transactional law. In addition, the competition allows students to network with more than 20 attorneys who serve as judges in an informal pizza party at Shakespeare’s, generously sponsored by Lathrop Gage.