Oliveri, Crouch and Henson win annual Mizzou Law faculty awards

Each year, three Mizzou Law faculty members receive awards: one for a scholarly work, one for teaching, and one for the administration of justice. I am writing to announce this year’s recipients.

a photo of rigel oliveriThe Husch Blackwell Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award is awarded for teaching excellence, and the recipient is chosen by the Missouri Law Review editorial board.

This years’ awardee is Rigel Oliveri, the Isabelle Wade and Paul C. Lyda Professor of Law.


a photo of dennis crouchThe Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP Excellence in Research Award is presented each year for excellence in research based on a published article. The recipient of the award is selected by the dean upon the advice and recommendation of a committee consisting of School of Law faculty and members of the firm of Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP.

This year’s awardee is Dennis Crouch, an associate professor of law and director of the Center for Intellectual Property and Entrepreneurship. Professor Crouch won this award for his article co-written with Homayoon Rafatijo, “Resorbing Patent Law’s Kessler Cat into the General Law of Preclusion.”

a photo of chuck henson

The Loyd E. Roberts Memorial Prize in the Administration of Justice was established to honor the MU law professor or student who has made the most significant contribution to improving the administration of justice, either within Missouri, nationally or internationally.

This year’s awardee is Chuck Henson, trial practice professor of law. The award is recognition for Chuck’s extensive outreach work in the service of justice, including his contributions to the Missouri Supreme Court Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness and his CLE lectures throughout the state on implicit bias.