Twelve Mizzou Law Alumnae Among Honorees for 2021 Women’s Justice Awards

Twelve Mizzou Law alumnae are among the 2021 Women’s Justice Awards 55 honorees, which include judges, in-house counsel, legal scholars and private practitioners from around the state, as well as outstanding students at Missouri law schools.

The Leaders of Tomorrow are recognized for leadership, professionalism and passion for making a difference in the justice system or legal profession. Tori Schafer, ’21, is among this year’s honorees.

The Public Service Award recognizes women who work on behalf of a nonprofit organization, government agency or the judiciary; or have made their mark in education: Betsy AuBuchon, ’00, director of government relations/deputy counsel for the Missouri Supreme Court; and Laura Roy, ’88, clerk of court, Missouri Court of Appeals Eastern District.

The Corporate Award recognizes women serving as general counsel or in-house counsel, advising businesses on complex legal matters: Whittney Dunn, ’11, risk manager, The Bar Plan; and Amy Moore Harris, ’10, executive vice president/chief legal officer, UMB Financial Corp.

The Litigation Practitioner Award recognizes litigators who have made their careers in the courtroom – criminal or civil, representing plaintiff or defense: Ashley E. Benoist, ’12, Stanton | Barton;  Susan L. Brown Miles, ’00, Evans & Dixon; Lauren C. Collins, ’13, The Automobile Club of Missouri (Kraft, Bischoff, Buckley & Collins); Brenda G. Hamilton, ’90, Seigfreid Bingham; Meghan Lewis, ’09, Sandberg Phoenix; Camille L. Roe, ’12, Jackson Lewis; and Megan R. Stumph-Turner, ’08, Baker Sterchi Cowden & Rice.

At the 23rd Annual Women’s Justice Awards event will be October 21, 2021, at the Four Seasons Hotel in St. Louis. Since 1999, Missouri Lawyers Media has presented these awards to celebrate extraordinary women lawyers, law students, rising stars, public officials and others in recognition of the standards of professional excellence they’ve set for their peers.