Professors Freyermuth and Trachtenberg elected to American Law Institute

Professor R. Wilson Freyermuth and Associate Dean Ben Trachtenberg were recently elected as members of the American Law Institute (ALI). They join 13 current or emeritus members of the Mizzou Law faculty who are ALI members: Larry Dessem, David English, William Fisch, David Fischer, Bob Jerry, Thom Lambert, Lyrissa Lidsky, Erika Lietzan, David Mitchell, Gary Myers, Phil Peters, Richard Reuben, and Dale Whitman.

According to information on it website, the American Law Institute is the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law. ALI drafts, discusses, revises, and publishes Restatements of the Law, Model Codes, and Principles of Law that are enormously influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education. By participating in the Institute’s work, its distinguished members have the opportunity to influence the development of the law in both existing and emerging areas, to work with other eminent lawyers, judges, and academics, to give back to a profession to which they are deeply dedicated, and to contribute to the public good.