Professors Mitchell, Freyermuth and Lietzan win 2024 Mizzou Law Faculty Awards

Each year, three faculty members receive Mizzou Law awards for their outstanding work: one for a scholarly work, one for teaching, and one for the administration of justice.

  • The Husch Blackwell Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award is awarded for teaching excellence, and the recipient is chosen by the Missouri Law Review’s editorial board. This years’ awardee is Professor S. David Mitchell. In a nomination letter, the Missouri Law Review’s editor-in-chief wrote that Professor Mitchell “consistently show[s] acceptance for diverse viewpoints, and . . . encourage[s] his students to step outside of their comfort zones to expand their perspectives.”
  • The Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP Excellence in Research Award is presented each year for excellence in research based on a published article. The recipient of the award is selected by the dean upon the advice and recommendation of a committee consisting of School of Law faculty and members of Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP. Eligible works were published in calendar year 2023. This year’s awardee is Professor Wilson Freyermuth for “Crypto in Real Estate Finance,” published in the Alabama Law Review.
  • The Loyd E. Roberts Memorial Prize in the Administration of Justice was established to honor the MU law professor or student who has made the most significant contribution to improving the administration of justice, either within Missouri, nationally or internationally. This year’s awardee is Professor Erika Lietzan.The award is recognition for Professor Lietzan’s significant work for the Administrative Conference of the United States. In addition to serving on multiple committees for ACUS, she produced an extensive white paper on user fees, which formed the basis of ACUS’ recent recommendations to federal agencies and Congress on “designing and implementing user fees in administrative programs.”